Dining Room History

The names of each of the dining rooms at Antoine's Restaurant are steeped in history.

When entering through the grand doorway, you step into the original Main Dining Room. This a beautiful, light filled room that contains many of the original décor fixtures including the chandeliers.

The vast, glistening dining room located just past the main dining room is named the Large Annex. It has been a local favorite for decades and was a tribute to Antoine’s Alsatian wife, Julie. Many New Orleans families have had the same waiter for years.

Three of our private rooms bear the names of Carnival krewes -- Rex, Proteus, and Twelfth Night Revelers and our bar is named after the Krewe of Hermes. To this day, these Room serve and perpetuate one of New Orlean’s great institutions - Mardi Gras. There walls are adorned with photos of royalty and memorabilia, including crowns and scepters of many years long past.

The Mystery Room acquired its name due to Prohibition, the 18th Amendment prohibiting the sale of alcoholic drinks (from 1919 until 1933). It covered the era of the bootlegger and the Al Capone reign of terror in Chicago. During this time, some would go through a door in the ladies' restroom to a secret room and exit with a coffee cup full of booze (in spite of the Blue Laws). The protocol phrase at table when asked from whence it came was: "It's a mystery to me." The name stuck and to this day, it's still the Mystery Room, nestled charmingly at the end of an interesting corridor. The room is dotted with souvenirs of famous restaurants around the world, including Groucho Marx's beret.

The 1840 Room, fashioned in the style of the period, is a charming salon for dining. Photographs of successive generations of the Alciatore family also dot the room and add to the richness of the warm, red interior. It replicates a fashionable dining room from that time and is also a museum of sorts, housing a Parisian cookbook circa 1659, and the restaurant's silver duck press among other treasures.

The Roy Alciatore Room was formerly the Capitol Room ... so named because the wooden panels on the walls were taken from the old capitol building in Baton Rouge. This room has a twin next door, the Maison Verte Room. Both rooms are almost identical in size and contain four black marble fireplaces, two in each room. The rooms also share a charming balcony overlooking Rue St Louis and the French Quarter.

The Japanese Room was originally designed with Oriental motifs popular at the turn of the century. All of the decorations, down to the hand-painted walls and ceilings, spoke of things Japanese. Many large banquets were held there until December 7, 1941 when the Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor to usher the United States into World War II. Roy Alciatore then closed the room and it remained closed for 43 years. It was reopened in 1984. Recently the room has been refreshed with a new updated look that included the preservation of the hand painted ceiling.

The Last Room or Tabasco Room is the last named room at Antoine’s. It is an intimate space with just one table. It was recently renamed after one of Antoine’s most distinguished customer and community leader, Paul McIlhenny of the famous Tabasco family. The room is appropriately painted “Tabasco” Red and is rumored to be the location of most engagements in New Orleans.

The long and narrow Wine Cellar, which measures 165-feet long and 7-feet wide, holds approximately 25,000 bottles when fully stocked. It is a legendary space and can be viewed from a small window on Royal Street.


Private tours available upon request